I suggest you ...

2016 UR3 deletes vhdx-file when restoring a checkpoint without that disk

to reproduce:
- create a new vm
- create a checkpoint of the new vm
- attach a second disk to the vm
- restore the checkpoint

all versions below UR3:
- the file of the 2nd disk remains on the csv and can be attached later

UR3:
- the agent removes the file of the second disk

6 votes
Vote
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    I agree to the terms of service
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    Christian Stückrath shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    1 comment

    Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      I agree to the terms of service
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Bart Leving commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        In Update Rollup 13 for System Center 2012 R2 Virtual Machine Manager this has been announced as new functionality:
        Snapshot deletion and restore does not delete VHDs, even if they do not have any dependencies.
        This is actually a very good functionality. Many customers use snapshots, but don't realize that they have left over disks if they return to a old snapshot. This fills up the CSV's with unused files.

      Feedback and Knowledge Base